Next Saturday, 25 March, is the day of the Accademia Mondiale della Poesia – World Academy of Poetry. For this year’s theme, “Poetry and Peace”, the Catullo Prize will be awarded to Parwana Fayyaz (Afghanistan) and Pasquale di Palmo (Italy).

The event will take place at 4 p.m. in the prestigious Sala Maffeiana of the Accademia Filarmonica di Verona, a place of timeless charm where Mozart played (a few steps from the Arena, entrance from Via Roma 1/G).

A public event with readings on peace by poets from Italy and the five continents, with dialogue, dance and music, with the presence of “Catullo 2023” prizewinners Parwana Fayyaz, whose verses give voice to Afghan women, and poet Pasquale Di Palmo (Italy).

This will be followed by a concert entitled “Requiem XIX for Peace” by Laurent Couson (actor, musician, who has worked with directors such as Claude Lelouche and Lui Besson, arranger and musical director of many jazz and French chanson musicians). He will be accompanied by the soprano Melissa Purnell, the choir A.L.I.V.E. under the direction of M. Paolo Facincani and the solo dancers of the Fondazione Arena di Verona, Elisa Cipriani and Luca Condello.

Entrance is free and subject to availability (please register HERE to attend).

Accademia Monidale della Poesia was founded in Verona on 21 March 2001. It brings together 60 of the world’s most famous poets, including Nobel Prize winners Wole Soyinka, Derek Walcott, Seamus Heaney and, among its founding members, the great Italian poet Mario Luzi. The mission of the World Academy of Poetry is to celebrate World Poetry Day, proclaimed by UNESCO, each year with a major poetic and musical event. It also promotes the dissemination of poetry, with a particular focus on the younger generations, by organising prizes, competitions and conferences.

Other poets who have taken part in the drafting of the constitution include Adonis (Syria), Kornelius Platelis (Lithuania), Kenneth White (UK), Mahmoud Darwich (Palestine), Ana Blandiana (Romania), Vénus Khoury Ghata (Lebanon), Jean Portante (Luxembourg), Homero Aridjis (Mexico), Mohamed Achaari (Morocco), Nicole Brossard (Canada), Jérome Rothenberg (United States), Haroldo de Campos (Brazil), Andrei Voznesenski (Russia), Gozo Yoshimasu (Japan), André Velter ( France).

Directed by Alfonso de Filippis
Exhibition of books by Tallone Editore
Aperitif with guests to follow

General organisation: Laura Troisi